American Society for Microbiology

Florida Branch

2014 Florida and Southeastern Branch Joint Meeting:

The Southeastern Microbiology Summit (100th General Meeting of the Southeastern Branch of ASM and Florida Branch of ASM) took place on September 5-7, 2014 in Ponte Vedra Beach Sawgrass Marriott Resort.

There were over 200 participants from dozens of different universities throughout the southeastern United States.



Chris Marx and John Anthony Vanchiere were our keynote speakers, with presentations titled "The math of metabolism: mutations that don't like each other (and species that do)" and “Emergence of Human Polyomavirus Disease among Immune Compromised Patients”, respectively.


For those students who participated in the Graduate School workshop the slides will be made available in the educational resource section of this website.


The organizers would like to thank all the participants for joining us in Ponte Vedra and we look forward to see you again in 2015.

Max Teplitski and Kurt Schesser

Presidents, Southeastern and Florida Branch

The Florida Branch of the American Society for Microbiology is where microbiologists (from high school students to senior researchers) meet.  Our branch includes people from academia, industry, government, and non-profit organizations.  Our backgrounds and areas of interest cover a wide range of fields including public health, oceanography, molecular mechanisms, genetics, genomics, biodefense, biodiversity, and more! Our mission is to promote microbiology within the State of Florida and bring together people interested in this field. This goal is achieved through annual branch meetings, sponsored seminars, and information provided through this web site and our Facebook group.











The Florida Branch of the American Society for Microbiology recently lost an integral member of its organization.

Dr. William "Bill" Safranek was the long time treasurer of the FLASM who helped promote scientific research and education amongst Florida's next generation of scientists.


Bill was also an Assistant Professor at the University of Central Florida Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences where he received multiple teaching awards including the 2010 UCF Teaching Incentive Award and in the 2013 College of Medicine's Founders' Day honoree for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.


Bill was an outstanding scientist, educator, mentor and friend.  Bill will be missed.


If you would like to contribute to the William Safranek Endowed Scholarship Fund please go to the following link:


William Safranek

June 16, 1953 - February 17, 2014

Copyright © 2014 American Society for Microbiology. All rights reserved.

See Also: ASM National Rights and Obligations

Web Design by Koa Digital

American Society for Microbiology : Florida Branch